Today was a funny day Funny because …

Today was a funny day. Funny because “The worst calamity is the one that makes you laugh”. I rarely meddle into politics. Partly because I KNOW -yes it is a fact- that it is a dirty field. There are no clean politicians. There are just less dirty ones. And I mostly hate politics because I like to think of myself as an artist. A person who can see and appreciate BEAUTY in its purest and most basic forms. And there is no beauty in politics.

So, today was a funny day because I happened to hear the news more than once, through word of mouth and the radio in my father’s car, and the tweets and my facebook page. I noticed how miserable must these people be who are arguing about who did what first, just like children. And then I realized that these people are actually the entities that rule us.

Old as it may be, I have terrible hatred to war. Warlords who are in government and parliament are way beyond my human understanding. I just can’t accept the fact that people who ruined our sleep for years when we were kids are now trying to make our country better. That simply doesn’t add. No matter how hard you try to trust them – if you can actually get to the “trying to trust them” stage.

And then there is the issue of our Lebanese pride. We are proud people. We don’t deny it. We actually brag about it. I brag about it. We are educated, open minded, intelligent, beautiful people who know how to live and how to party. So, in this moment of listening to the news today, I told myself, “How is it that these educated, intelligent, open minded, beautiful people have CRIMINALS and murderers ruling them?” That also doesn’t add, whatsoever. For a fraction of a second, I felt bad that I had never tried to understand politics. But then I remembered that politics is dirty EVERYwhere, not only here. But then again, people in America have politicians ruling them but at least they get their basic needs supplied to them – even if they think their country sucks. They have not been here to see the chaos we live in. And during that moment, I felt so bitter.

We think we are better than Syrians. We think we are better than Egyptians. We think we are better than all the Arabs in the GCC countries because we are actually the ones who run their countries for them. We think we are better than the ajenib (foreigners) who can’t locate Beirut on a map. We think we are better than almost ANY human being on the face of this earth. I pray, tell me then, o’brave beautiful intelligent open minded people: How come we’ve got a mob of war criminals and thieves governing our daily lives to the guts?

That -on its own- makes us worse than all of them. We disgust Me.

Author: Niam

Filmmaker/Digital Nomad/Storyteller

2 thoughts on “Today was a funny day Funny because …”

  1. The answer is simple, those geniuses of of open minded people, have never been open minded. And lebanese leaders are a mirror of the society, based on sectarianism, religion and stupidity. Voila

    Like

What do you think? Please leave a comment! :)

