Happy “Invisible Labor” Day

Because everybody was congratulating everybody today for Labor Day, I decided to chime in. Happy Labor Day.

I worked my butt off today just like most people who do their own gigs and struggling independent artists. The holiday didn’t really mean much to me. Although it certainly felt good that streets were calm and empty, everybody was resting. Awesome. Rest, rest. To be honest, I don’t think people in the Arab world get tired at their jobs, for the most part. So I am totally indifferent whether we get the day off or not. Most of them go to their offices to show up, do a minimal effort that keeps them from getting fired then earn a salary. So, yeah, whatever, Labor.

But one person did not rest today. That person is my mother. And your mother. To these people, invisible workers who do the toughest job of all, I decided to say Happy Labor Day today, like, for real.

So to my mother, your mother, and all stay-at-home mothers who go out of their way to raise their children, who work 24/7 whether its a work day, holiday, school day, or Sunday; to the mothers who wake up at any time of night or day to tend to our silly questions and funny complaints, to them higher souls with big hearts that don’t tire of loving and accepting us whatever crazy sh*t we do, to all mothers, whether they are with us or in a better world, I heartily dedicate this Labor Day. Which I know won’t be a holiday for them. It will probably be a tougher “work” day because everybody’s home.

As for the rest of us, you and me and the rest who work their butts off, sleep tonight and wake up early tomorrow ye smart ones for another “Happy” “Labor” “Day”.

Author: Niam

Filmmaker/Digital Nomad/Storyteller

1 thought on “Happy “Invisible Labor” Day”

What do you think? Please leave a comment! :)

